Posted in Uncategorized

The Out-line of Revelations

1. (1:1-20)

What is the author telling me?

John opens by telling who he is and to whom he is writing. He says that he heard the Lord speak, commanding John to write. Then John sees the Son of Man and describes Him. Jesus, comforting John, tells about Himself.

How should I respond?

I should write to others to be an encouragement. I need to listen to the Lord and obey Him. I should know that there is comfort and help in Jesus.

2. (2:1-3:22)

What is the author telling me?

Jesus gives the messages to each of the seven churches, encouraging them. Then Jesus says that He chastens those He loves, and then commands us to repent. Jesus then commands us to listen to the Spirit.

How should I respond?

I should be an encouragement and be encouraged by good things. I need to love rebuking from God and others, and repent of my sins. I should listen to the Spirit of God and obey Him.

3. (4:1-5:14)

What is the author telling me?

John says he heard a voice like a trumpet telling him to come and see the things that must happen in the end. He saw the throne of God, then four beasts praising God. Then John saw a book with seven seals which no one could open but the Lion of Judah. Then angels began praising God.

How should I respond?

I should listen and obey. I need to praise God all the time because He is worthy. I should exalt the Lion of Judah because He can open the seals

4. (6:1-8:5)

What is the author telling me?

The first seal is opened and it was a white horse with a man on it that would conquer. The second was a red horse with one that would take peace from the earth. The third was a black horse and one with balances was on it. The fourth was a pale horse with one named Death on it. When the fifth seal was opened John saw ones slain for the Word of God under the altar. The sixth was opened and there were earthly and heavenly disasters and all the men of the earth hid themselves. John speaks of the twelve tribes of Israel, and then tells of the angels praising God. When the seventh seal was opened there was a silence in heaven, then John saw seven angels and another one had a golden sensor. The angel who had the sensor filled it with fire then through it on the earth and there was storminess.

How should I respond?

I should be amazed at God’s greatness. I should see how terrifying God is to unsaved people and be a good witness. I need to praise and exalt the Lord over all.

5. (8:6-11:19)

What is the author telling me?

There was blood, death, darkness and plagues from the seven angels. Then John was given a book to eat that was sweet and bitter. He was then given a reed to measure the temple. Then two witnesses were to war against the beast that ascended from the bottomless pit. There was sorrow on the earth, and then twenty-four elders fell down and worshipped God. This section ends with more storms.

How should I respond?

I should be amazed at what God can do, and that there is nothing done contrary to His will. I should obey and worship God. I am to see the glory of God in everything.

6. (12:1-14:20)

What is the author telling me?

John tells of the woman with child trying to get away from the dragon. Then Michael and his angels fought against him and won, so the dragon which is the Devil was cast out. The woman was protected from the devil. Then John saw a beast come up from the sea, and it deceived people of the world. John saw the Lamb on MountZion and harpers and virgins followed and worshipped Him. An angel comes with a sickle and reaps the earth.

How should I respond?

I should trust God to take care of me.  I should be very thankful that Satan does not live for ever. I need to praise and worship God. I should not deceive or be deceived.

7. (15:1-16:21)

What is the author telling me/

Seven angels pour out vials. The first poured his out on the earth and there was a sore on the men who had the mark of the beast on them. The second was poured out on the sea and everything in it died. The third was poured out on the rivers and the fountains of water and they became blood. The fourth was poured out on the sun and it scorched men with fire. The fifth was poured out on the seat of the beast and his kingdom was full of darkness. The sixth was poured out on the river Euphrates and it dried up. Then Jesus says that He will come as a thief in the night, so we must watch. The seventh vial was poured out into the air and a voice from heaven said “It is done”. And there was much sorrow and suffering on the earth.

How should I respond?

I should see what amazing wonders God can do. I should watch and be ready for when Jesus comes again. I should look forward to when this world will pass away and there will be a new one.

8. (17:1-21:8)

What is the author telling me?

John is shown by an angel the wicked whore that sat on a scarlet beast. He says that she was drunk with the blood of martyrs. Then the Lamb shall war against the beast and the woman, and He shall overcome them. Then John talks about the wicked city of Babylon and how she shall be destroyed. He then talks about a white horse with one called Faithful on it, and He went with the armies of heaven following Him. Then He made war against the beast and the false prophet and they were cast into the lake of fire. Then the Devil was thrown into the bottomless pit. John saw the new Jerusalem, and a voice said that God would dwell with men and wipe all tears from their eyes. It says that God will make all things new, but all ungodly people will have their part in the lake of fire.

How should I respond?

I should be thankful that God will destroy the Wicked One, the Devil. I should praise and thank God that He will make all things new. I should look forward to when all tears will be wiped away.

9. (21:9-22:9)

What is the author telling me?

The seven angels which had the seven vials showed John the Holy Jerusalem and she was like a precious stone and very beautiful. There were twelve precious stones on the foundation of the wall. No one will be in heaven but those written in the Lamb’s book of life, and there will be nothing bad. Then John tells of the river of life that is the healing of nations. Jesus says that He will come quickly, and an angel tells John to worship God alone.

How should I respond?

I should rejoice that God is preparing a beautiful and sinless place for Christians. I should wait and watch for the coming of Jesus. I must worship God alone.

10. (22:10-21)

What is the author telling me?

An angel tells John not to seal the things that he has written. Jesus again says that He will come quickly and that He is the Beginning and the End. He closes by saying that He is “the bright and morning star.” John says to come and take the water of life freely. Then he says that he has testified of the things he has written of and asks Jesus to come. Then he closes by sending grace to the seven churches.

How should I respond?

I should be thankful that Jesus is from everlasting to everlasting. I should take of the water of life. I should be truthful and obey God. I should want Jesus to come quickly and want His grace on others.

 

 

 

~Elisabeth  Leake~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&                            Priscilla took this beautiful sunrise pictureP1090375

Author:

I am a 12 year old girl seeking to glorify God in everything I do. "Therefore, whether you eat or drink , or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God." 1 Corinthians10:31

One thought on “The Out-line of Revelations

  1. [1] This particular text is such a powerful testimony to the eternal nature of the Lord Jesus that many anti-Trinitarians have come up with rather desperate answers in order to explain it away. One typical argument is that in Revelation 5:3 John says that there was no one worthy in heaven to open its scrolls, but we know that Jesus was worthy and he was in heaven. This, they claim, indicates that John’s language shouldn’t be taken in such an exclusive manner, that he literally intended to include every one when he claimed that there is no one who was worthy. It should rather be viewed as hyperbole.

Leave a Reply

